The Cape Town Fringe Festival draws to a close on Sunday, 8 October. The 18-day feast of drama, music, dance, physical theatre, comedy and illusion was celebrated with an awards ceremony at the Fringe Club in Gardens on Saturday night.

The awards, which honour creative excellence across a number of genres, were presented in front of an audience of theatre professionals, media and fans. The Fringe Fresh Awards were chosen by a panel of industry experts.

Fringe Fresh Awards Convenor Motlatji Ditodi says, “The variety of work on the programme this year has been challenging and incredibly FRESH. I am very happy to have witnessed the work that the Fringe had to offer.”

The Fringe Fresh Awards winners are as follows:

The FRESH Creative Award – awarded to an outstanding arts practitioner making or contributing to the making of work in any genre (producer, director, writer, composer, designer, choreographer, etc) goes to:

  • Choreography – Mzokuthula Gasa for Abangabonwa (The Unseen)
  • Directing – Mahlatsi Mokgonyana for Tswalo
  • Writing – Khayalethu Anthony for The Champion

FRESH Performer – Stand-out performance by an artist in any genre (music, dance, comedy, illusion, etc)

  • Billy Langa in Tswalo

In the newly created category, FRESH ‘We See You’ Award, which recognises for exceptional work in which both process and craft are evident and worthy of special mention, the winners are:

  • Black Pride
  • Dirty Laundry En Vuil Wasgoed
  • Gug’ Othandayo the Musical
  • Ikhaya

In the category, FRESH Audience Award for the most popular production based on proportional ticket sales and audience feedback the winner is:

  • Samthing Soweto Gold Tour

The FRESH Spirit Award celebrates an artist or arts organisation working in any genre whose work embodies the spirit of ‘Fringe’ and the winner is:

  • J BOBS Live – Off The Record

The FRESH Performer award for a stand-out performance by an artist in any genre (music, dance, comedy, illusion, etc)

  • Billy Langa in Tswalo

The FRESHEST Show award for the best Overall Production at the Cape Town Fringe

  • J BOBS Live – Off The Record 

This year’s nominees

The 2017 Fringe Fresh Awards panel comprises:

  • Motlatji Ditodi (convenor)
  • Celeste Botha
  • Kurt Egelhof
  • Paul Griffiths
  • Faye Kabali-Kagwa
  • Atiyyah Khan
  • Steven Kretzmann
  • Ukhona Mlandu
  • Mbongeni Nomkonwana
  • Gabriella Pinto
  • Tracey Saunders